Projector light hurts my eyes!!

I have never used technology before in the classroom, so now I have the mimio hooked up with a projector. The projector is ceiling mounted, but I still continue to have a major headache during my lesson. Is there a way around this bright light?!!

mvitale's picture
Submitted by mvitale on Sep. 16, 2009

Comments & Collaboration (14)

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Projector Light

Hi

Sorry to hear your situation. I do not get affected like you as I never seem to get the light strike my eyes directly with ceiling mounted projectors.

Is it possibly because I am very short? I am about 1,54 m tall.

You are probably much taller and your eyes could be directly in the projector light path when you are standing at the board and you turn around to address the class (I presume you are a teacher). This will seriously affect your eye health WITHIN A VERY SHORT time. Not worth it, in my opinion! ......and I am a great fan of mimio.
I realise my eyes are beneath the strong light path. I used to experience what you are going through when I used to use a desk height data projector. The light is too powerful for the eye. So try to get the ceiling mount adjusted so the projector is a bit higher up and the light is mostly above your head. The whiteboard is probably fixed. You have to apply the physics of light projection here.
Don't know if this will help?

• Posted:
    Apr. 30, 2016
joelene
Posted by
Joelene Juries
Downloads: 1

Best bet?

I have no ability to change the white board to non glare or get a new projector, so I guess I will be mindful to use soft color backgrounds to reduce glare. The students have complained more than I do.

• Posted:
    Apr. 12, 2013
marcher@ndpma.org
Posted by
marcher A
Downloads: 86

projector

I've been using a short throw projector and don't find the hot spots to be a problem.